What is the connection with Apple?  All about the security function

What is the connection with Apple? All about the security function

2019-06-03-17-10-02

Sign in with Apple will appear on the apps. You can also use an email address instead.

√Črika Garc√≠a / CNET

Sign in with Apple is a privacy tool that gives iOS users more security when using third-party apps and websites with their Apple ID. You can choose the Sign in with Apple tool to verify your credentials instead of signing in with Facebook, Google, or creating a brand new account.

Connect with Apple signaled the tech giant’s commitment to privacy that the company has long made of a mantra. Since then, Apple has added more privacy controls to iOS, including the ability to prevent apps from tracking you across websites, and “nutritional labels“which let you see what information apps are collecting before downloading.

Here’s everything you need to know about how Sign-in with Apple works and how to use it. In addition, here is how to check your iPhone’s privacy settings in two easy steps and nine rules for strong passwords.

How to use the connection with Apple?

1. When you open any app or website, if it supports signing in with Apple, just tap Continue with Apple.

technical-advice-logo-badge.png

Brett Pearce / CNET

2. Accept or deny all permissions requested by the app.

3. Follow the onscreen prompts for your Apple ID. You can choose to change your name, share or hide your email. Choose Continue.

4. Enter your password when prompted. You can also confirm with Face ID or Touch ID. If you don’t have any of the three, you can use your Apple ID password.

As long as you are logged in on your device, you will be logged in to the app. To sign out, simply locate the settings in the app or website and choose Sign Out. You will need to repeat the process if you want to reconnect.

How does the connection with Apple work?

Sign In With Apple uses your iOS device to verify your credentials instead of using your social account credentials, which could make you vulnerable to online tracking. With the Hide My Email option, Apple creates a random email address – you’ll recognize it by the unique alphanumeric string followed by @ privaterelay.appleid.com.

apple-wwdc-2019-sign-in-with-apple-2815

James Martin / CNET

The random email address can only be used for a specific application. The app or website will use the generated email, but Apple will forward all correspondence to your real email, protecting your identity. You can reply to any emails you want without revealing your personal email address. Apple also allows you to turn off the e-mail forwarding feature at any time.

Sign in with Apple says it won’t use any of your information outside of what is necessary for you to sign in and out of an account. The tool also uses two-factor authentication with Face ID or Touch ID. If you don’t see the Sign In option, it means the app or website doesn’t support it yet.

Read more: Flushing passwords can improve your security – really

How do I know which apps support connection with Apple?

1. Open the iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch Settings app and tap your name.
2. Tap Passwords & Security
3. Choose Apps Using Your Apple ID.

From there – if you’ve used Sign In – you should see a list of apps. You can browse each app and see what (or change) preferences you’ve set, as well as read the app’s or website’s privacy policy. You can also turn off email forwarding here and stop using your Apple ID with the app.

Here’s how to do it on Mac:

1. Choose the Apple menu.
2. Open System Preferences.
3. Click on Edit.

img-1761

Dan Ackerman / CNET

And how to do it from a web browser:

1. Log in to appleid.apple.com.
2. Find the Security section.
3. To select Manage apps and websites under Connect with Apple.
4. To choose Manage.

Read more: Three old password rules that turned out to be stupid today

Can I change my transfer email address?

Yes. If you’re using Hide My Email and need to make changes, here’s what to do on mobile:

1. Open Settings.
2. Tap your name
3. Faucet Name, phone numbers, e-mail.
4. Faucet Transfer to under Hide my email.
5. Choose a new email address to use for the transfer.

The new address you enter will apply to all apps you use the Hide My Email Login feature with.

How is signing in with Apple different from using my Facebook or Google sign-in?

Signing in with Apple is only visually similar to the icons that allow you to use your Google or Facebook credentials. While signing in with Facebook or Google might seem easier, there is a lot of personal information associated with these accounts, such as your nicknames, hometown, and birthday. This data may seem trivial at first glance, but some of it is a primary security issue for your bank account and other sensitive information.

Signing in with Apple also gives you more control over what permissions apps and websites have access to. You can choose which apps should ask for your permission whenever they request your location data over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth. This is handy if you’re trying a new app, or if you don’t plan to use an app often, for example.

For more information, see how to prevent your iPhone apps from following you and Best iPhone VPNs of 2021.


Now playing:
Check this out:

Best iOS 15 Features: How Focus Mode Made My iPhone Better


7:20

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *